In March 2014 the standard IEC 60034-30-1 was published. It replaced standard IEC 60034-30:2008, which defined three efficiency levels for three-phase induction motors. The new standard IEC 60034-30-1 includes a new fourth efficiency level, or IE4. In addition to the IE4 rating, 8-pole motors and an extended power range have been incorporated into the standard.

The following IEC efficiency classes are now defined for induction motors (IE = International Efficiency) :

IE1=Standard Efficiency (efficiency levels roughly equivalent to the existing EFF2 in Europe)
IE2 =High Efficiency (efficiency levels roughly equivalent to the existing EFF1 in Europe and identical to EPAct in the USA for 60 Hz)
IE3Premium Efficiency (new efficiency class in Europe and identical to "NEMA Premium" in the USA for 60Hz)
IE4 Super Premium Efficiency

The standard IEC 60034-30-1:2014 defines efficiency levels and classes for 50 or 60 Hz single or three-phased line motors (regardless of the technology).

The revised standard includes the following line-motors

Number of poles: 2, 4, 6, 8
Power range:0,12 – 1.000 kW
Voltage: < 1000 V, 50/60 Hz
Degree of protection:all
Operating mode: S1 (permanent operation with constant load); motors, that are designed for different operating modes but can still be operated permanently with rated output.
Degree of temperature: -20°C – +60°C
Altitude:Up to 4.000 m above sea level
Geared motors:yes
Smoke Extraction Motors with a temperature class up to 400°C: yes
Validity: Standard IEC 60034-30-1 valid since March 2014

What is included?

What motors are covered by the standard?
The scope of the new standard is wider than that of the agreement previously in force in Europe. IEC 60034-30 covers almost all motors (for example standard, hazardous area, marine,
brake motors):
−− Single-speed, three-phase, 50 and 60 Hz
−− 2, 4 or 6-pole
−− Rated output from 0.75 to 375 kW
−− Rated voltage UN up to 1000 V
−− Duty type S1 (continuous duty) or S3 (intermittent periodic duty) with a rated cyclic duration factor of 80% or higher
−− Capable of operating direct online 50 and 60 Hz
−− Within the EC from January 2017, new motors in the range of 0.75 kW to 375 kW have to be IE3 unless driven by variable speed control, then IE2 can be used.

What is excluded?

There are a number of exceptions within the standard:

Motors with 10 or more poles, as well as motors that are designed for variable speed.
Motors with mechanical commutators (e.g. DC-motors).
Motors, which are completely integrated into a machine (e.g. pumps, fans and compressors) and simply cannot be tested on their own, even if bearings and bearing shields are temporarily used on the drive-end site.
Motors with integrated frequency converters (compact-drives), if the motor cannot be tested separately from the converter. The efficiency-classification of compact-drives has to be based on the complete PDS (Power Drive System) and therefore has to be defined in a separate norm.
Brake motors, if the brake is an integral component of the inner motor-construction and can be neither removed nor separately operated during the testing of motor-efficiency.
Submersible motor, which are specifically designed to be operated completely immersed in liquid.
Smoke Extraction Motors with a temperature-class of over 400 °C.

Drives and Automation Ltd are a ‘one-stop’ independent shop for a full range of industrial automation products and system integration services. We provide drive modules, motors, control systems and PLC / SCADA solutions. Independent advice is provided on the most suited product by application. In addition we offer a variety of drive accessories.  We are the UK agent for the Sicme Motori range of AC and DC motors.